Hymn Quotes

I love our hymns. singing-hymns
They tell the messages of the gospel in touching ways. I love the simple music, the heartfelt poetry. I love that many hymns we sing were composed with messages unique to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, such as preparing for the Second Coming. There are hymns to comfort during life’s trials and hymns to spur us to greater obedience. There is almost a hymn for any situation.

I have noticed when I listen to music that hymns bring the most powerful spirit. Most popular music is distracting and drives away the Spirit. Most classical music seems neutral, neither bringing nor repelling the Spirit. The hymns, on the other hand, help bring the Spirit. That is one reason why we sing them so much during our worship services.

Some of the greatest sermons are preached by the singing of hymns. Hymns move us to repentance and good works, build testimony and faith, comfort the weary, console the mourning, and inspire us to endure to the end….Hymns can lift our spirits, give us courage, and move us to righteous action. They can fill our souls with heavenly thoughts and bring us a spirit of peace.” (from the First Presidency preface to the LDS hymnbook)

conference-center-organ-pipes

Here are some of my favorite hymn quotes: (Hymn numbers are those found in the LDS Hymnal)

“And let the sweet longing for thy holy place bring hope to my desolate heart.” (Hymn 6)

“No toil nor labor fear, but with joy wend your way” (Hymn 30)

“We are watchers of a beacon whose light must never die” (Hymn 35)

“There is my home, the spot I love so well” (Hymn 37)

“Dear Lord, prepare my heart to stand with Thee on Zion’s mount and never more to part” (Hymn 41)

“Dear Mother Earth, who day by day unfoldest blessings on our way” (Hymn 60)

“When the earth begins to tremble, bid our fearful thoughts be still; When thy judgments spread destruction, keep us safe on Zion’s hill” (Hymn 83)

“When Christ shall come, with shout of acclamation, and take me home, what joy shall fill my heart!” (Hymn 86)

“Come to God’s own temple, come” (Hymn 94)

“Dearest children, holy angels watch your actions night and day” (Hymn 96)

“The night is dark, and I am far from home; Lead thou me on! Keep thou my feet; I do not ask to see the distant scene–one step enough for me.” (Hymn 97)the-second-coming

“And when the tempest rages high I feel no arm around me thrust, but every storm goes rolling by when I repose in Him my trust” (Hymn 114)

“Earth has no sorrow that heav’n cannot heal” (Hymn 115)

“In Me thy pain shall cease, in Me is thy release, in Me thou shalt have peace eternally” (Hymn 120)

“Be still, my soul: Thy God doth undertake to guide the future as he has the past” (Hymn 124)

“So look upward in joy and take hold of his hand; He will lead you to heights that are new” (Hymn 127)

“He answers privately, reaches my reaching in my Gethsemane” (Hymn 129)

“More purity give me, more strength to overcome, more freedom from earth-stains, more longing for home.” (Hymn 131)

“And while I strive through grief and pain, His voice is heard: ‘Ye shall obtain.'” (Hymn 134)

“I need thy presence every passing hour. What but thy grace can foil the tempter’s power?” (Hymn 166)

“Be near me, Lord Jesus; I ask thee to stay close by me forever, and love me, I pray.” (Hymn 206)

“How silently the wondrous gift is given!…Where meek souls will receive him, still the dear Christ enters in.” (Hymn 208)

“In the quiet heart is hidden sorrow that the eye can’t see.” (Hymn 220)

“Then wake up and do something more than dream of your mansion above” (Hymn 223)

“There is sunshine in my soul today” (Hymn 227)

“the world wants daily little kindly deeds” (Hymn 230)

“Eyes that are wet now, ere long will be tearless.” (Hymn 237)

man-singing-in-christmas-concert
I loved it when this member of the Tabernacle choir sang “Does the Journey Seem Long” during general conference

“Do your duty with a heart full of song” (Hymn 252)

“I’ll be what you want me to be” (Hymn 270)

“I felt that I had wandered from a more exalted sphere” (Hymn 292)

“What greater goodness can we know than Christlike friends?” (Hymn 293)

“Roses bloom beneath our feet, All the earth’s a garden sweet,… when there’s love at home” (Hymn 294)

One way I have found to listen to the hymns is to download the music from general conference and then compile a playlist of my favorites. The files are free to download.

I’d love for you to comment with your favorite hymn quote.

Leave a Reply

