New Year’s Resolution

This past few months, the words of a scripture keep running through my mind…

“organize yourselves”

This is from Doctrine & Covenants 109:8, which talks about the Saints preparing to build their first temple. After my recent visit to the Phoenix Mormon Temple open house, I have wanted to make my home more like the temple. Not by getting expensive furnishings, but by keeping it more orderly. I feel like any home, no matter how small, can feel pleasant and peaceful if it is clean.

SMART-goal-acronym
Remember criteria for setting achievable goals! source tekkek.com

So, my resolution is to organize my closets and storage areas.

I realize it is practically impossible to have the entire house clean at one time when we have a young family. Yet I feel like I can bring my home a little closer to the ideal of being like God’s house.

My New Year’s resolution gained momentum when my Darling Husband (DH) suggested we paint the boys room. DH knows how much I like painting, and he NEVER suggests it. I  have only painted the entryway since moving here five years ago (that is extreme self-control!) His reasoning was the boys room looks shabby. It has flat paint, which over the past few years has accumulated lots of scuffs and dings. Their roof had leaked and been patched, but the drywall patch had never been textured or painted. Time for some sprucing up.

Progress

So, we got the boys room painted. Our neighbor came over and helped us texture the ceiling patch. Then I painted a nice pale beige on the walls. With everything smooth and fresh again, it looks like a new room! DH bought a few more plastic totes and sorted all of the toys.

boys_room_blue_red_beige
Boy’s room. Red and blue quilts with beige walls.
boys room for 3
another shot showing the crib and totes underneath

Next, I organized my closet. Our newborn had been sleeping in there in his pack-n-play, but we had just moved him to the crib in the newly painted boys room. Time to put away all my maternity clothes and get out my regular clothes. I realized I have never actually pulled out my clothes and sorted them into outfits to see what pieces I could add. I am planning on sewing a navy blue skirt to help pull things together. DH organized the desk and cleaned the office.

IMG_3703
clean closet
IMG_3701
Clean desk. This took a bit of work, done by DH.

Next I plan to organize my pantry. This will help me see which of our food storage items I have used and need to replace. Finally, I would like to build a new towel rack for the bathroom.

I have all year to work on these, but really my time frame is to finish within a couple of months. It is amazing how much more calm and in control I feel with just the progress I have made. My kids have an easier time picking up because usually only one type of toy is out at a time. I enjoy sitting and feeding the baby in the fresh boy’s room.

I plan to go to the temple often this year to feel the inspiration that originated my goal. I think that will also help my goals stay on track. My beliefs help me stay organized. That’s a new kind of organized religion.

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution

  1. Good luck on the organization 🙂 Looking good so far, lots of progress! Seems like no matter how much I get organized, there is still more to do and then I forget where I put stuff. I told hubby the kids sucked out my brain lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

