Spiritual Food

Have you ever fasted? Fasting is going without food for a period of time. Usually it is done to increase spirituality. I think the idea is to control your physical cravings in an attempt to feel the spiritual cravings that exist.

spiritual-bread-food-LDS
source lds.org

Do you ever feel spiritual hunger? Usually I am so caught up in daily life that I don’t think about what my spirit feels. That’s one reason God commands us to observe the Sabbath, to give our souls a chance to be fed while our bodies rest. Once in awhile I feel a kind of spiritual longing that I believe is homesickness for heaven. Since I don’t remember what heaven is like, it’s hard to be sure.

I like this scripture found in 2 Nephi that talks about spiritual food.

Wherefore, do not spend money for that which is of no worth, nor your labor for that which cannot satisfy. Hearken diligently unto me, and remember the words which I have spoken; and come unto the Holy One of Israel, and feast upon that which perisheth not, neither can be corrupted, and let your soul delight in fatness.

Some ideas for feeding our spirits include prayer, meditation, self-evaluation, reading God’s word (AKA scripture), sharing our testimony, and keeping commandments. Here’s a description of spiritual nourishment from President Uchdorf:

The more we incline our hearts and minds toward God, the more heavenly light distills upon our souls. And each time we willingly and earnestly seek that light, we indicate to God our readiness to receive more light. Gradually, things that before seemed hazy, dark, and remote become clear, bright, and familiar to us.

When our spirits get malnourished, we experience symptoms like loss of testimony, disobedience to God, unhappiness, and confusion. Elder Neal A Maxwell said, “When spiritual decay occurs, it is almost as if a physical light goes out in the countenance of such individuals.”

I hope to continue feeding my spirit through daily acts of devotion so that some day when the limited perception of mortality is gone, I will be able to see my spirit for what it truly is: a divine individual with unlimited potential for expansion. I hope my spirit will be healthy and vibrant.

girl-smiling-peru-wall-potential-LDS
source lds.org
5 thoughts on “Spiritual Food

Leave a Reply

