My Christmas gifts to the Savior

This year, I’ve thought of gifts to give to Jesus.

A Heart of Gold

As I continue my life journey and try each day to live according to the teachings and example of Jesus Christ, my heart becomes more pure. The trials of life soften me and teach me mercy. The Holy Spirit helps me feel Gods love, which increases my desire to love everyone around me. As I experience how living the commandments of God results in blessing and joy, I lose my desire to sin. Slowly, over more than a lifetime, my heart is becoming golden. You know, like those people you meet who are so sweet and wonderful that you can’t help loving them.

Prayers like Frankincense

God loves me. He loves all of his children. He gives me His word to help guide my life. Sometimes I don’t thank Him often enough. For Christmas, I will pray a little more often. Little prayers sent heavenward throughout the day. Perhaps talking to God as my Father, who wants to know how I feel. Sharing my joys along with my frustrations. Asking for guidance. Asking how I can help do His work. Praying to be more like the person He can help me become.

My life’s Myrrh

If I consider the example of Jesus Christ, he gave his life–all of it–to save us. There is no way to repay His gift. The whole purpose of Jesus’ mission results from the impossibility of our situation. If I follow His example, the most I can do is give my life to Him. It’s not a payback, but “our wills constitute all we really have to give God anyway.” He said, “Come, follow me.” In trying to do so, my life is completely different. Lived differently. That is my gift to God.

 

Wise men gifts
“There came wise men from the east to Jerusalem, saying, Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship him.”

 

Leave a Reply

